Character Sketches pre-Nano

There are a lot of different motifs out there for a ‘good character.’ Some people want heroes, some people want anti-heroes; we can have regular men and women, struggling adolescents, brilliant assassins, bad-men-turned-good – you get the idea.

I want my Nanowrimo novel this year to be good. Good enough for me to work on it, revise it, and maybe even give to other people to see if they’ll like it. And with that in mind, I have dropped my previous pantsing approach, and am working full out on the planning.

I chose this idea for my novel because I liked the characters in it; I felt I could work with them. I’d like to maximise their potential and know where they’re going before I’m halfway through the novel and thinking, ‘so, what is this guy’s motivation, anyway?’

Here are some of the things I have been setting down for my characters. I’ve been writing them to fulfill my daily goal of 750 words, so they’re not super long, nor super thought-out. But they get the ball rolling:

  • Short Bio (emphasis on short)
  • One or two anecdotes from the character’s past that exemplify a trait or explain a development
  • Favourite colour
  • Favourite food
  • Pet peeve
  • Phobia
  • Deepest fear
  • Nervous habit
  • Outward relation to other main characters
  • Inward opinion of other main characters

This would probably be a good thing to write out for all my characters. However, even if I had the time, I don’t know that I’d have the patience to do it. It’s fun to write a lot of these things, but I’m starting to itch for story progression. There are so many scenes I want to put down! But taking the time to make these things up has helped me think of a couple great scenes in which that can be put to good use.

What else should we think about when we want to make a well-rounded character? As always, dazzle us with your brilliance in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Character Sketches pre-Nano

  1. jmd5717 says:

    One thing that popped into my mind, is “the untold/unwritten” part of the character. Something about the character we are not told about but that mystery is a driving part behind the character.

    Best example I can think of at the moment is Roland from the Dark Tower Series(what Im currently reading).

    Anyway that is my two cents, hope it helps, and good luck!

    • forgingshadows says:

      Good one! Yes, in some ways when we meet a character, we are seeing (to use a cliche) the tip of the iceberg. So there should be things authors know about their characters that readers don’t. Important things.

Leave a Reply

