I’ve Found My First Procrastination Tool

Okay, it’s not really my first procrastination tool. There was the rest of the internet, and other writers complaining about plot lines, and thesis, and about a thousand other things. But this is cooler than cat gifs, George Takei, and those horrible television shows that I hate to love (I’m looking at you, Once Upon a Time and Vampire Diaries).

A shout out to Graham Edwards, who wrote about something called Wordle on his blog. Thanks, Graham. Now I’ll never get anything done in November. After writing every fifty words, I’ll stop to see what my wordle looks like.

Wordle is an application that turns text into word cloud. You can put in as much or as little as you like (as far as I understand it) and see how often you use certain words in your writing. You can also play around with the font, color and orientation of your cloud.

To experiment, I took the prologue of a work in progress and put it in to Wordle. The piece is 3,695 words long. I was utterly convinced that it was going to be dominated by the word water.

Wordle: prologueOh, how wrong I was.

It took me a fair while to even find water on there. I figured goddess would play a prominent role. I was a bit surprised to see that Doge had taken the top slot, since that character was only in around half of the prologue.

This application is interesting to see what we think we are writing about, and what we are actually putting down. Of course, the words don’t mean a lot without some kind of order to them. But all the things I thought were major or minor themes didn’t seem that important when crunched via the Almighty Method of the Wordle. Perhaps if I were less tired, or smarter, I would be able to figure out how the themes I’ve tried to incorporate do manage to show up in the word cloud.

But alas, I have been giving tours all day and all I want to do is be a mindless zombie and drink my chai. And play around more with wordle.

If anyone else feels like making a word cloud, feel free to post the results up here. It will be fun and colorful!

Just for fun, I put this post into wordle, too.

13 thoughts on “I’ve Found My First Procrastination Tool

  1. We seem to have similar addictions (Vampire Diaries, chai tea, the internetz, writing) and now I have to add yet one more to that list…Wordle!

  2. Thanks for the shout out, Lillian 🙂 Is Wordle dangerously addictive? Oh yes indeed!

    • forgingshadows says:

      No problem. Obviously, something dangerously addictive should be shared with EVERYONE! So we can all be addicted and lose our word counts together.

  3. ArtiPeep says:

    You’ve inspired me to put my last post through Wordle too. I might do it on a regular basis to check for my biases……All the best!

    • forgingshadows says:

      Thanks! It’s a pretty cool tool, I’m looking forward to using it in November when I’ll be putting out thousands of words with virtually no editing.

  4. TBM says:

    I love chai…now I want one. haven’t heard of wordles…and I think I should step back quietly and ignore…step back…

  5. Maggie Bean says:

    Great stuff! I’ll check it out (even though I don’t need anything else to keep me from doing work) and share your post with my FB readers.

    • forgingshadows says:

      Thanks very much! It’s great fun and might just be some amount of useful. As long as we don’t get carried away…

Leave a Reply

